Diocese of

Hexham and Newcastle

Bishop Robert Byrne CO

Vicariate for Care of The Clergy – Contacts

Episcopal Vicar: Rev. Jeffrey J. Dodds

Address: St. Mary’s, Hencotes, Hexham, Northumberland NE46 2EB.

Tel: 01434 603119



Vocation for Priests:

Vocations Director for Priests: Rev. John Bagnall

Address: St. Patrick’s Presbytery, Victoria Road, Consett, Co. Durham DH8 5AX.

Tel: 01207 502196



Promoter of Vocations for Priests:

Rev. Shaun Purdy

Address: St. Aidan’s Presbytery, Station Road, Ashington NE63 8AD.

Tel: 01670 812200



Priests On–going Formation Team:

Director: Rev. Shaun O’Neill

Address: St. Teresa’s Presbytery, Heaton Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE6 5HN.

Tel: 0191 265 5290



Formation team: Rev. John Bagnall, Rev. Andrew Downie, Rev. Martin Morris, Rev. Shaun Purdy.


Sick and Retired Priests:


Chair: Rev. Jeffrey J. Dodds

Address: St. Mary’s, Hencotes, Hexham, Northumberland NE46 2EB.

Tel: 01434 603119

Members: Rev. Harry O’Reilly, Rev. Seamus O’Kane, Rev. David Smith, Fiona Standfield, Naomi Rooke

Secretary: Lynne Matthews


Care of Sick and Retired Priests:

Social Worker: Naomi Rooke

Tel: 0191 228 0111 or mob: 07833 169755


Rev. David Smith

Tel. 0191 262 3882


Permanent Diaconate Formation Team:

Director of Formation: Rev. Mark Millward

Address: English Martyrs and SS. Peter and Paul, Redhill Road, Stockton-on-Tees TS19 9BY.

Tel: 01642 806469



Academic Lead: Rev. Deacon Vincent Purcell



Spirituality Lead: Rev. Simon Weymes.



Promoter of Vocations for Deacons: Rev. Deacon Shaun McGee

Address: 7 Consett Park Terrace, Moorside, Consett DH8 8ET


Tel: 01207 501026


Deacons On-going Formation:

Director: Rev. Deacon David Collins

Address: Badgers Gill, Batt House Road, Stocksfield NE43 7QZ

Tel. 01661 843654



Members: Rev. Deacon David Collins, Rev. Deacon Peter Linsley, Rev. Deacon Stephen Boulter, Rev. Deacon Paul Nichol, Rev. Deacon Peter Smith.


Care of Sick and Retired Deacons:

Director: Rev. Deacon Peter Linsley

Address: 43 Burdon Crescent, Seaham SR7 0JQ

Tel: 0191 581 4451


Council of Deacons:

President: The Bishop

Chairman: Deacon David Collins

Tel: 01661 843654

Vice Chairman: Deacon Robert Wareing

Secretary: Deacon Shaun McGee