Diocese of

Hexham and Newcastle

Bishop Seamus Cunningham

Diocesan Councils and Groups

Council of Laity

The Laity Council is a consultative Body to the Bishop

President: Rt. Rev. Seamus Cunningham

Chairman: Mrs Julia Firbank

Chaplain: Fr. Jeffrey Dodds

Clerk to the Council: Mrs. P. Kennedy tel: (0191) 284 1690 or email: or

It represents Laity from all areas of the Diocese.

Representatives are sent from clusters, deanery area councils, or where there are none of these, directly from parishes.

It usually meets twice a year plus a day of reflection.

Upcoming Dates

Saturday 18 March 2017: Meeting has been postponed, revised arrangements to be confirmed.

Saturday 19 November 2017: Details and venue to be confirmed.

Latest Meeting

A meeting of the Council of Laity took place on Saturday 12 March 2016. Further information and details of the current committee are available here.

Council of Youth

President: Rt. Rev. Seamus Cunningham
Contact Youth Village tel: 01207 592244

Council of Clergy

President: Rt. Rev. Seamus Cunningham
Chairman: Fr. Ian Hoskins tel: (01670) 788344 or email:
Secretary: Fr. Jeff Dodds email: