Diocese of

Hexham and Newcastle

Bishop Seamus Cunningham

Lourdes Pilgrimage

Content for id "forpic" Goes Here

See all photos from the recent diocesan Pilgrimage to Lourdes

Forward Together in Hope

NEW: Forward Together in Hope Individual Questionnaire now online

Offer YOUR comments about the present and the future of the Catholic Church in the Diocese

The Forward in Hope Team are particularly keen to get responses from anyone, including those who do not attend church regularly, in order to learn as much as possible from their perspectives.

Interfaith Cricket Match

On August Bank Holiday Faith groups from Newcastle and Tyneside came together for an Interfaith Cricket Match and Family Fun Day.

Proclaim '15

See recent Proclaim '15 event

See details of Follow up meeting

Living the Joy of the Gospel

Christians around the North East are invited to join together to celebrate our common call to proclaim and live the Gospel with joy and hope: Durham Cathedral Sun Sept 6th 3.30pm

Forward Together in Hope

NEW: August updates


The Catholic Church in England and Wales launches safeguarding e-learning  -  please see Department for Safeguarding for further details.

Papal Encyclical on the Environment

See more information and download encyclical

St Hilda's Diocesan Resource Centre

See NEW opening hours

St Mary's Cathedral


Patrons of the Diocese: St Cuthbert, Bishop and Confessor and Our Blessed Lady Immaculate