Diocese of

Hexham and Newcastle

Bishop Séamus Cunningham



There are 18 deaneries in our diocese.

Click on a deanery for information and the names of the churches in each deanery


A deanery is an administrative area comprising several churches. Churches in a deanery will often connect together for joint meetings and activities. Each deanery has a Dean who arranges meetings and keeps churches in the deanery in touch with one another.